DSCN0070This winter, I read a number of books and web sites to learn about perfume, which also includes essential oils, colognes and toilet waters.  One particular book, although fiction, was wonderful for giving a history of how perfume came about and how it was made- Perfume: the Story of a Murderer by Patrick Suskind.

When I was a child, my mother gave me empty perfume bottles to play with.  She always wore perfume.  She died a number of years ago, and I think of her often- especially how she always smelled so good.  She also was an Avon sales-person and although she didn’t wear many of their scents herself, she gave me many of the little samples.

My quilt guild is having their bi-annual show this October.  In the last show I entered a queen-sized quilt entitled ‘Once I Lived in the Heart of a Pomegranate’.  This quilt won Viewer’s Choice.  I wasn’t even going to enter, but the guild said…what’s a show if no-one enters?  This quilt was part of a many years study of the Pomegranate as it appears throughout the Dewey Decimal System.   It was a subject I  used to learn and illustrate the  many different quilting techniques.   I made 37- 9″ x 12″ art quilts.  Now that I have been studying about perfume, I decided to do a piece illustrating the many flowers, leaves, resins, rinds, barks etc. that are used in the making of perfume.

This quilt will be entered in the Art Quilt category.  I am using a 4 1/2″ hexagon shape for each illustration (flower, leaf, rind, etc.) and a variety of crazy needlework stitches that will include ribbons, beads, paints, etc.

